Utah Placer Gold

Discussions focused on gold panning ...

Utah Placer Gold

Post Number:#1  Postby Stoker » Fri Mar 29, 2002 5:47 pm

I know, its almost an oxymoron but I believe that panning skills are still one of the most effective ways to locate gold, Placer or otherwise. Besides its fun. Does anyone here do much panning? Ive heard that one of the best places in the state to do it is somewhere near Cove Fort. Ive found some placer gold in Ut. but it is always real fine flakes like its been crushed and ground, very hard to keep in the pan.
Stoker

Re: Utah Placer Gold

Post Number:#2  Postby Whyte Eagle » Fri Mar 29, 2002 6:26 pm

A number of years ago I worked in a store that sold gold pans and other prospecting items. Old timers would come in time to time to replensih the things they needed, and sometimes they would bring some of their finds to show off ..... every single one of them said the same thing you did in your post Stoker ..... and everyone of them panned within the state. It's one thing I've never done before, but would like to try some day ..... does anyone have any good pointers on panning for gold?
Whyte Eagle
Site Admin

Post Number:#3  Postby UTAH DOWSER » Sat Mar 30, 2002 3:14 am

ya use a dredge before you pan lol
UTAH DOWSER

Re: Utah placer gold

Post Number:#4  Postby Stoker » Sat Mar 30, 2002 11:20 pm

Whyte eagle,

What part of my post is the same thing they said? When they showed off their findings what did it look like? Any nuggets? What part of Utah was your store in?
Stoker

Re: pointers

Post Number:#5  Postby Stoker » Sat Mar 30, 2002 11:35 pm

The new style composite pans like the ones with rifles built into them are a good step up from the old style metal ones because you can scan them with a metal detector for one thing and the rifles and a qualifier can speed up the process quite a bit. Less weight when hiking is always nice too.